Statut de la mutuelle européenne (SME)

Il existe déjà des lois européennes pour diverses formes juridiques de société (statut de la société européenne, statut de la société coopérative européenne, groupement européen d’intérêt économique) et d’autres sont à l’étude (statut de la fondation européenne, statut de la société privée européenne pour les PME).

Les assureurs coopératifs peuvent donc s’enregistrer sous le statut d’une société coopérative européenne (voir ci-dessous). Il n’existe en revanche toujours pas de statut de la mutualité européenne et ce, bien que le dossier soit à l’étude depuis le début des années 1990.

Objectifs et principales caractéristiques d’un SME

Du point de vue de l’AMICE, le principal objectif d’un SME à court terme est de créer des conditions de concurrence égales entre les sociétés à responsabilité limitée, les coopératives et les mutuelles d’assurance : le SME devrait mettre le secteur de l’assurance mutuelle et ses concurrents sur un pied d’égalité, tant sur le plan national qu’international. À plus long terme, le SME pourrait également devenir un précieux instrument de promotion de la société mutuelle dans les pays où ce modèle n’existe pas ou est insignifiant.

Principale caractéristiques d’un SME, selon l’AMICE :

  • À l’instar des autres statuts européens, le statut de la mutuelle européenne n’a aucun caractère obligatoire ; les mutuelles devraient être en mesure de s’en prévaloir si elles le souhaitent, mais ce statut ne peut en aucun cas leur être imposé. Le SME ne vise ni à modifier ni à remplacer le(s) cadre(s) juridique(s) national(-aux) relatif(s) aux mutuelles : la diversité européenne est en effet un des atouts du modèle.
  • Tous les projets de texte ont été conçus pour s’appliquer indistinctement à tous les domaines d’activité et pour concerner aussi bien des mutuelles d’assurance, que des mutuelles de santé ou encore d’autres types de mutuelles.
  • Le SME a pour objet de fournir un cadre juridique européen aux sociétés qui organisent la fourniture de produits et de services dans l’intérêt de leurs clients, lesquels sont aussi leurs sociétaires. Une société mutuelle est la propriété collective et/ou est contrôlée par ses membres et n’a pas de capital social en tant que tel. En vertu du principe de continuité, les sociétaires n’ont en effet aucun droit sur l’actif net de la mutuelle (voir les principes de liquidation ci-après). Les mutuelles appliquent un modèle de gouvernance fondé sur les principes de démocratie.
  • Une mutuelle européenne peut être constituée de diverses manières et notamment :
    par création, décidée par au moins deux sociétés mutuelles ou par un certain nombre de personnes physiques dans plus d’un pays ; par la transformation d’une société mutuelle ; ou par la fusion de sociétés mutuelles situées dans plusieurs juridictions européennes.
  • Les règles de répartition de l'actif net, en cas de liquidation d’une mutuelle, varient d’un pays européen à l’autre. Dans le cas d’une mutualité européenne, cette répartition doit se faire suivant les modalités prévues par le cadre juridique national et/ou les statuts de la mutualité européenne. La répartition peut se faire suivant le principe de dévolution désintéressée ou, lorsque la loi de l’État membre où la mutuelle européenne a son siège le permet ou le prévoit, selon d’autres modalités définies par les statuts de la mutuelle européenne.

Histoire

1991-2008

Les premières tentatives d’élaboration d’un statut de mutuelle européenne remontent au début des années 1990. Une proposition de la Commission, déposée en 1992 (et ensuite amendée par le Parlement européen en 1993, puis par le Conseil en 1996), a fait l’objet d’un débat au Conseil, sans que les choses n’aillent toutefois plus loin.

En 2003, la Commission européenne a publié un document consultatif relatif aux « Sociétés mutuelles dans une Europe élargie ». Dans le résumé des réponses reçues, la Commission indiquait qu’à une exception près, « toutes les réponses à la question portant sur la nécessité de créer un statut européen pour les sociétés mutuelles… confirment cette nécessité ». (Site web de la Commission, réponse de l’AISAM, réponse de l’ACME).

En septembre 2005, la Commission a pourtant retiré de l’agenda européen la proposition de règlement portant sur le statut de la mutuelle européenne (SME), considérant qu’il y avait un « manque de progrès décisif dans le processus législatif » (Communication de la Commission).

Au cours des deux années suivantes, l’AMICE (à l’époque, l’ACME et l’AISAM) et l’AIM ont élaboré une nouvelle proposition de règlement commune afin de convaincre la Commission de reprendre ses travaux sur le statut de la mutuelle européenne. Un mémorandum explicatif accompagnait la proposition de l’ACME-AISAM-AMICE.

De 2010 à aujourd’hui

En 2010/2011, la commission emploi et affaires sociales du Parlement européen a commandité une étude sur « Le rôle des sociétés mutuelles au XXIe siècle », dont les conclusions stipulent que « les mutuelles devraient être mieux reconnues en tant qu’acteurs distincts et importants au sein de l’économie et de la société européennes » et que « à cette fin, le statut de la mutualité européenne pourrait être un instrument approprié ».

Dans la foulée, et sur la base de cette étude, la DG ENTR a demandé à la même équipe de chercheurs de réaliser une étude approfondie sur la situation et les perspectives des mutuelles en Europe (assortie d’une annexe) qui a été publiée en novembre 2012, D’après cette étude, un statut de mutuelle européenne permettrait sans doute aux organisations de type mutualiste d’être davantage reconnues, de donner une image plus exacte d’elles-mêmes dans leur pays et de mieux faire respecter leurs intérêts au niveau européen.

Après avoir demandé à maintes reprises à la Commission de reprendre ses travaux sur l’élaboration d’un SME, le Parlement européen a adopté une Déclaration écrite en mars 2011, dans laquelle il engage la Commission « à faire le nécessaire pour présenter des propositions de statuts européens pour les (…) mutuelles ».

À l'automne 2012, la commission des affaires juridiques (JURI) du PE a décidé de produire un Rapport d’initiative contenant des recommandations à la Commission sur le statut de la mutualité européenne (rapporteur : M. Luigi Berlinguer, député européen). Ce rapport, approuvé par le PE en séance plénière au printemps 2013, s’est accompagné d'une évaluation d’impact effectuée par l’unité « Valeur ajoutée européenne » de ce même Parlement.

Au printemps 2013, la Commission a lancé une consultation sur les résultats de l'étude et leur éventuel suivi (voir la page web de la Commission et la réponse de l’AMICE). Dans le rapport de synthèse des réponses reçues, les services de la Commission précisent qu’une grande majorité des répondants se prononcent résolument en faveur d’un statut SME et y voient une possible solution au(x) problème(s) considérés comme des obstacles au développement (transfrontalier) des mutuelles. Et d’ajouter qu’une minorité de répondants ne voient pas la nécessité d’un tel statut, ou ne manifestent aucun intérêt pour celui-ci, ou s’opposent à cette idée.

Dans une évaluation d'impact bouclée fin 2013, les services de la Commission recommandent l’établissement d’un cadre juridique pour la société mutuelle européenne, par le biais d’une refonte du statut de la coopérative européenne. Une consultation interservices a débuté en avril 2014 sur un projet de règlement. Les travaux sur la Directive connexe relative à l'implication des salariés n’ont toujours pas commencé.

Au sein de l'AMICE, le dossier SME relève du groupe de travail SME, qui fait partie de la Commission plaidoyer.

Le statut de la coopérative européenne (SCE)

Le statut de la société coopérative européenne a été adopté en 2003. Entré en vigueur en 2006, il permet aux sociétés coopératives européennes de mener plus facilement des activités transfrontalières et leur confère une reconnaissance en droit européen.

En 2004, la Commission européenne a adopté une Communication sur la promotion des sociétés coopératives en Europe.

Cinq ans plus tard, elle a lancé une étude sur la mise en œuvre du règlement 1435/2003 relatif au statut de la société coopérative européenne. Réalisée par Euricse, Cooperatives Europe et le Centre EKAI, cette étude (et son annexe) a été publiée en octobre 2010. Ses résultats ont ensuite fait l’objet d’une consultation (voir la page web de la Commission pour le questionnaire et le résumé des réponses, ainsi que la réponse d’AMICE).

En février 2012, la Commission européenne a présenté un rapport au Parlement et au Conseil sur l'application du règlement relatif au statut de SCE. 

 

Downloads

EC feedback report on the EC consultation on mutuals

AMICE response & annex to the EC consultation on mutual 

Proposal for an EMS (drafted by AMICE and AIM) 

Explanatory Memorandum

Comparison of EU company statutes FR
AISAM-ESSEC study 2008
 
List of European Parliament reports in support of an EMS 

European Parliament Written Declaration on establishing European statutes for mutual societies, associations and foundations  FR  DE

The European Mutual Statute (EMS)

For several legal forms of incorporation, European statutes exist (European Company Statute, European Cooperative Society Statute, European Economic Interest Grouping) or are under consideration (European Foundation Statute, European Private Company Statute for SMEs).

Cooperative insurers are therefore able to use the European Cooperative Society Statute (see below). In contrast, despite related work going on since the early 1990’s, there is still no Statute for a European Mutual Society to date.

Objectives and main characteristics of an EMS

In the short term, the main objective of an EMS as seen by AMICE is to provide equal competitive conditions between limited liability, cooperative and mutual insurance companies: the EMS should enable the mutual insurance sector to compete on an equal footing, both at national and cross-border levels. In the longer term, an EMS could also become a valuable tool to promote the mutual society model in countries where the model does not or barely exists.

AMICE sees the main characteristics of an EMS as follows:

  • Like the other existing European statutes, the EMS is non-compulsory; mutuals should be able to avail themselves of this legal form if they wish but it should not be imposed. The EMS is not intended to change or replace the national legal framework(s) for mutuals, diversity all over Europe being one of the strengths of the model.
  • All draft texts have been designed to be activity neutral; they could be used for insurance mutuals, health mutuals or indeed mutuals providing any other type of activity.
  • Its object is to provide a European framework for undertakings that want to provide goods and services in the interest of their clients who are their members. Mutuals are owned and/or controlled by their client-members and have no share capital as such. Under going concern, members do not have a right to the net assets (but see below for liquidation principles). Mutuals have a governance model based on democracy.
  • Among the numerous ways an EMS can be formed the most important ones are: by creation by at least two mutuals or by a number of natural persons in more than one country; by conversion of an existing mutual; or by the merger of mutuals in different EU jurisdictions
  • The rules for the distribution of the net assets upon liquidation of a mutual differ among the European countries. For an EMS, such distribution should follow the arrangements set out in the national legal framework and/or in the statutes of the EMS. The distribution may follow the principle of disinterested distribution, or, where permitted or foreseen by the law of the Member State in which the EMS has its registered office, any alternative arrangement set out in the statutes of the EMS.

History

1991-2008

Efforts to develop a European Mutual Statute date back to the early nineties. A Commission proposal of 1992 (revised with EP amendments in 1993 and by the Council in 1996) was discussed in Council, but never got beyond that discussion stage.

In 2003, the Commission launched a consultation document on “Mutuals in an Enlarged Europe”. In the feedback summary, the Commission states that (with one exception) “all replies to the question on the need for a European statute for mutual societies ... consider that such a statute is necessary”. (Commission webpage, AISAM response, ACME response)

In September 2005 the draft Regulation on a European Mutual Society Statute (EMS), whose legislative process was seen by the European Commission as lacking substantial progress, was removed from the European agenda. (Commission Communication).

Between 2005 and 2007, AMICE (at the time its two predecessor organisations, ACME and AISAM) and AIM jointly prepared  a new draft regulation for an EMS with the aim of convincing the European Commission to relaunch its work on such a statute. The ACME-AISAM-AMICE draft was accompanied by an Explanatory Memorandum.

2010-today

In 2010/2011, the European Parliament’s Committee for Employment and Social Affairs commissioned a study “The role of mutual societies in the 21st century ”. The researchers concluded that “mutuals should be better recognised as a distinct and important actor within the European economy and society” and that “(f)or this purpose, an appropriate instrument could be a statute for European mutuals”.

Following and based on this study, the same research team was asked by the European Commission’s DG ENTR to produce an in-depth Study on the situation and prospects of mutuals in Europe(with an annex) which was published in November 2012. The study recognises that a Statute for European Mutuals “could help mutual-type organisations to gain recognition, to increase the understanding concerning mutual-type organisations in the countries and to better respect mutual-type organisations’ interests at European level”.

After already having requested on numerous occasions that the Commission resume its work on an EMS, the European Parliament adopted in March 2011 a Written Declaration, calling on the Commission “to take the necessary steps to introduce (a) proposal(s) for (a) European statute(s) for ... mutual societies."

In the autumn of 2012, the EP Committee on Legal Affairs (JURI) decided to produce an Own-Initiative Report with recommendations to the Commission on the Statute for a European Mutual Society (rapporteur: Mr Luigi Berlinguer MEP). This report, which was approved by the EP Plenary in spring 2013, was accompanied by an impact assessment by the European Parliament’s own European Added Value Unit.

In spring 2013, the Commission started a consultation on the results of the study and on possible follow-up (see Commission webpage and AMICE response). In the synthesis report of the answers received, Commission services stated that “there is strong support amongst the majority of respondents ... to promote an EMS statute as a possible solution to the ... problem(s)” that were identified as barriers for mutuals in their (cross-border) development. A minority of respondents, though “do not see the need or show no interest in, or are negative towards, the idea of an EMS statute”.

In an impact assessment completed at the end of 2013, Commission services recommended the creation of the legal framework for the European Mutual Society through a recast of the European Cooperative Statute. A draft of this Regulation was sent into inter-services consultation in April 2014. Work on the accompanying Directive with regard to the involvement of employees has not so far begun.

Within AMICE, the work on the EMS is covered by the EMS Working Group, part of the Advocacy Commission.

The European Cooperative Society

The Statute for a European Cooperative Society was adopted in 2003 and came into force in 2006 and enables cooperative societies in Europe to undertake cross-border activities more easily as well as ensuring their recognition in European legislation.

In 2004, the European Commission adopted a Communication on the promotion of co-operative societies.

In 2009, the Commission launched a Study on the Implementation of the Regulation 1435/2003 on the Statute for a European Cooperative Society. The study (with its annex), carried out by Euricse, Cooperatives Europe and the EKAI Center was published in October 2010. The study was followed by a Consultation on its results (see Commission webpage for the questionnaire and the summary of responses, and the AMICE response).

In February 2012, the European Commission submitted a Report to the Parliament and the Council on the application of the SCE Regulation.

Downloads

EC feedback report on the EC consultation on mutuals

AMICE response & annex to the EC consultation on mutual 

Proposal for an EMS (drafted by AMICE and AIM) 

Explanatory Memorandum

Comparison of EU company statutes FR
AISAM-ESSEC study 2008
 
List of European Parliament reports in support of an EMS 

European Parliament Written Declaration on establishing European statutes for mutual societies, associations and foundations  FR  DE

© 2017 amice | All Rights Reserved | Contact Us | Sitemap | Search | Press corner | Join AMICE